You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Smooth Jazz - CD Reviews>Reminisce by DeNate

Reminisce by DeNate

DeNate has the smooth soul padding of 70s hitmaker Patty Austin, the hip dance grooves of 80s R&B songstress Pebbles and the attractive heated coils of George Benson. Comprised of multi-instrumentalist Nate Harasim and singer Deborah Connors, DeNate returns smooth soul to the frontlines of mainstream with their debut album Reminisce. Connors vocal purrs illuminate the songs with a delicate lightning like flickering candles woven into the melodic patterns, which flutter gently like sheets of satin around Connors voice. DeNate’s songs make people want to be in love, relishing in the blissful baths of soft suds permeating the senses with succor strokes caressing every pore on your body. It is an album that you can dive into and enjoy. The music has a productive effect on you, even as it takes control over your mind and emotions.

Whether you are with someone that you enjoy or not, DeNate’s remake of Quincy Jones and company’s song "Secret Garden" will let you feel the pleasure of ecstasy that comes from being in a satisfying romance. Connors vocals are heavenly and the counter melodies from Maurice Mahon are beautifully climate to the melody’s heat. Saxophonist Darren Rahn gives "So Sexy" attractive twitters that percolate sensually as Connors sultry vocals move seductively across the melodic folds. Though many songs are cast in a soft-light with romantic shading like the title track "Reminisce" and "Miss’n You," De’Nate also delivers a handful of uptempo club grooved numbers like "Let Your Body Move," featuring Mel Brown on bass and Darren Rahn on saxophone, and "Still Be Strong," whose dancefloor vibe is infectious. DeNate’s rendition of The Eurythmics song "Sweet Dreams" has smooth soul treatments that refreshes the tune and truly makes the song one of DeNate’s own. Harasim and Connors apply a paramour’s sensibilities and silky ministrations to the tunes, which cause the melodies to move mischievously, swooning and swaying in ways that only a lover can take you.

The DeNate sound was formed when Harasim and Connors collaborated on the song "Feel The Love" for Harasim’s second solo album Love’s Taken Over. Since then, the two have interlocked their voicings and added a new chapter in smooth soul’s anthology earmarking DeNate’s signature sound. Their album Reminisce features a number of special guests including saxophonist Darren Rahn, bassists Mel Brown and Bob Madsen, trumpeter Gordon James and guitarists Frank Selman and Michael Powell. For a mixed bag of musicians, Reminisce is a paragon of melodic pleasure. It is consistently luxuriating on the senses with smooth soul lighting and soothing esthetics that exude of ecstasy, showing intuitive sensibilities which know how to create wave after wave of bliss.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: DeNate
  • CD Title: Reminisce
  • Genre: Smooth Jazz
  • Year Released: 2008
  • Record Label: NuGroove Records
  • Tracks: Reminisce, All You Are To Me, Sweet Dreams, Miss’n You, Let Your Body Move, You Are My Everything, Still Be Strong, Secret Garden, So Sexy, I Can Take You There
  • Musicians: Nate Harasim (keyboards and programming), Deborah Connors (lead vocals), Darren Rahn (saxophone), Gordon James (trumpet), Frank Selman, Michael Powell (guitar), Mel Brown, Bob Madsen (bass), Maurice Mahon (harmony vocals)
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments