You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Smooth Jazz - CD Reviews>Walking With Strangers by Marilyn Scott

Walking With Strangers by Marilyn Scott

On her seventh album, Marilyn Scott sticks with a formula that has made her a hit on the adult contemporary scene.

Scott’s music isn’t so much a late Saturday night in a jazz club as it is a Sunday afternoon in the park. It’s mellow, relaxing and safe. Scott knows what works for her and doesn’t stray far from the smooth jazz sounds she has perfected on her past efforts.

Her soft jazz is blended with a little R&B, and there’s even a touch of Brazilian influence. Listeners who have come to expect good harmonies and arrangements will once again find them here.

Scott co-wrote seven of the songs on "Walking With Strangers," including "No Room For Hate," a song she debuted at the Equality Rocks concert in Washington, D.C., in 2000. With its message of respect and tolerance, the song will no doubt attract some attention in the wake of Sept. 11. There is also a surprise bonus song, "A Call For Peace," not listed on the cover.

Despite the CD’s title, Scott gets help from some notable friends on the recording, including Russell Ferrante and Jimmy Haslip from the Yellowjackets and singer/keyboardist Patrice Rushen.

This CD is for smooth jazz fans.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Marilyn Scott
  • CD Title: Walking With Strangers
  • Genre: Smooth Jazz
  • Year Released: 2001
  • Record Label: Prana
  • Rating: Three Stars
Login to post comments