You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Soul / Funk Jazz - CD Reviews>Pocket Fulla Nasty by Doug Johns

Pocket Fulla Nasty by Doug Johns

It has been said that the most respectful authentication of legitimacy is the acknowledgment from one’s peers, especially that of a world renowned artist. Receiving such authentication from world renowned bassist Victor Wooten, composer, arranger and bassist Doug Johns releases his second album Pocket Fulla Nasty.

Not far off from the Pastorius church, Johns pays homage to the late bassists with "Uum.... Continue" with a fine synth partner in Otmar Ruiz. In no way does the bass or bassist dominate this or any of the tracks on the album. This allows everyone to contribute and not just have this as a solo album or leader album.

"Chump Suey," a sister version of sorts to "Chop Suey," hears Kenny Anderson chipping in with alto, tenor and baritone saxophones. Johns brings some well-deserved funk to his second album with the self composed "Funk Bomb." The subtle yet forceful in some parts drumming of Chris Ceja, the man Johns gives thinks to in the liner notes for unselfishly providing the recording space to make Pocket Fulla Nasty, really blend well. There are some artists who try and imitate certain genres or styles and though funk sounds like it may be the easiest to imitate, some do not get it right and Johns and Ceja are close to getting it right.

Cleveland-based Doug Johns has more than 25 years of bass experience. It is surprising that he has only two albums as a soloist to his credit. With his second album Pocket Fulla Nasty, it appears he may have been keeping such great songs and great playing in his pocket for the last 25 years, waiting for the right moment to get nasty.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Doug Johns
  • CD Title: Pocket Fulla Nasty
  • Genre: Soul / Funk Jazz
  • Year Released: 2008
  • Record Label: Independent
  • Tracks: Scrumpt, Maniac, Chump Suey, Knutso, Funk Bomb, Uum...Continue, Southwest Song, Pocket Fulla Nasty, Local Forecast, Chew on a Dog, Truth in Nature.
  • Musicians: Doug Johns (bass, guitar, synth), Chris Ceja (drums), Mark Leach (hammond, clavinet), Joe Miller (trumpet), Rafael Guzman, Jr (percussion), Oz Noy (guitar), Feliz Dupre (guitar), Otmar Ruiz (syth), Utah Witherspoon (soprano saxophone), Kenny Anderson (alto, tenor and baritone saxophones), Dana Rasch (guitar).
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments