You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Straight-Ahead - CD Reviews>A Dave Brubeck Christmas by Dave Brubeck

A Dave Brubeck Christmas by Dave Brubeck

Aha, what can I say, for it may not be Christmas in July but this CD was a find at Borders and what a delightful, invigorating 56:06 minutes of playing time! It is hard for me to resist a Dave Brubeck release when I discover one! This is a very relaxed, mellow recording, and it has some of Brubeck's very best piano techniques in the wide-ranging selections. It was recorded at Stamford, Connecticut on June 6 and June 8, 1996. An expressive and interesting notes section written by Dave Brubeck also accompanies the CD.

The selections on this solo piano work include "Santa Claus Is Coming To Town," "Winter Wonderland," "Silent Night," "Cantos para Pedir las Posadas" ( a traditional song arranged by Dave Brubeck and a fine selection through which to study Brubeck's intimate and intricate piano techniques!), "The Christmas Song," and others. A nice gift for the Brubeck fan. Nice and easy jazz filled with touches of Brubeck elegance!

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Dave Brubeck
  • CD Title: A Dave Brubeck Christmas
  • Genre: Straight-Ahead / Classic
  • Year Released: 1992
  • Record Label: Telarc Jazz
  • Tracks: Santa Claus Is Coming To Town, Winter Wonderland, Silent Night, Cantos para Pedir las Posadas, The Christmas Song
  • Musicians: Dave Brubeck (piano)
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments