You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Straight-Ahead - CD Reviews>Casually Introducing Walter Smith III by Walter Smith III

Casually Introducing Walter Smith III by Walter Smith III

Texan saxophonist Walter Smith III has achieved compelling awards, tours and recognition for many years. Casually Introducing Walter Smith III is his first release as a leader and gathers invited brilliant artists such as Lionel Loueke, Gretchen Pralato, Roberts Glasper, Lage Lund, Vicente Archer, Kendrick Scott and Matt Kilmer.

Casually Introducing Walter Smith III has five compositions written by Smith III himself. This launching on Fresh Sound New Talent Records is streamline-noted and silver-tongued. The album detains crafty artists .... among them the Smith III quartet with pianist Aaron Parks, bassist Reuben Rogers and drummer Eric Harland.

From the musical stroke of the sax-piano duet by Parks and Smith III on "Kate Song", the gallant orientations are clear. "P.O.S" and "Blues" are field-digs, harmonically and rhythmically inspired. The Smith III quartet hub-knobs on a kind of original music, "Wooden Box (Spatula in Three)," that shows overall the great interplay from the band.

Walter Smith III plays memorably on Mingus’ "Duke Ellington’s Sound Of Love" and Ornette Coleman’s "Peace" and the consistent presence and input of every voice of the quartet brings the disc to a worthy ring, not to mention Smith III’s burning performance on "Cycle Episode" and Benny’s".

Casually Introducing Walter Smith III asserts Smith III as an effulgent player. He accomplished a good job, having all the qualities to burst in on any artful level. Good piece of art!

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Walter Smith III
  • CD Title: Casually Introducing Walter Smith III
  • Genre: Straight-Ahead / Classic
  • Year Released: 2006
  • Record Label: Fresh Sound New Talent
  • Tracks: Cyclic Episode, Kate Song, Tail Of Benin, Benny’s, Duke Ellington’s Sound Of Love, Wooden Box (Spatula In Three), Peace, P.O.S., Blues
  • Musicians: Walter Smith III (tenor and soprano saxophones), Ambrose Akinmusire (trumpet), Lionel Loueke (guitar, vocals), Lage Lund (guitar), Aaron Parks (piano, Fender Rhodes), Robert Glasper (Fender Rhodes), Reuben Rogers (bass), Vicente Archer (bass), Eric Harland (drums), Kendrick Scott (drums), Gretchen Parlato (vocals), Matt Kilmer (electronic hand percussion)
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments