You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Straight-Ahead - CD Reviews>Dimensions by Adam Czerepinski Sextet

Dimensions by Adam Czerepinski Sextet

Songs two through eleven are placed together as a ten movement suite based on the mid-century works of Duke Ellington and orchestral works of Oliver Messiaen. This is trumpeter Adam Czerepinski’s first album as a leader and given his background, coming from Berklee College, this should be a winner.

Written in late 2003, "Duality" leads off the album working off a twelve tone row (listed inside the front cover). Once this begins you can hear the great piano work of Soren Moller, himself a Scandinavian via New York since 1992.

As mentioned, the middle part of the album is broken off into a suite and lasts just over 40 minutes. This 'Love Supreme-ish' Ellington style movement really gives saxophonists Jake Saslow and Jon Irabagon a chance to show. The counter pointer and dualism between them and the addition of Czerepinski, really add to each track. Song three in the movement gives a short but great flute section by Irabagon with tenor by Saslow, he short rushes really do fill it up. Throughout these songs that make up this suite aside from Moller, bassist Dave Hertzberg also shines. His steady bass playing is not buried in the back by the three up front, as with the drumming of Paul Wiltgen.

The last song on the album, "Until That Time" is a great exit. Everyone working in unison. Everyone making sure they are heard, slow and easy. Adam Czerepinksi has a good album here. He does not over take anyone on any of it. Just because he is the leader does not mean he is front and center on any of the songs. His trumpet playing is extraordinary, that combined with the good musicians he has surrounded himself with; this album, Dimensions should be a hit independantly.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Adam Czerepinski Sextet
  • CD Title: Dimensions
  • Genre: Straight-Ahead / Classic
  • Year Released: 2005
  • Record Label: Independant
  • Tracks: Duality, Dimensions, Until That Time
  • Musicians: Adam Czerepinski (trumpet), Jon Irabagon (alto, flute), Jake Saslow (tenor), Soren Moller (piano), Dave Hertzberg (bass), Paul Wiltgen (drums)
  • Rating: Three Stars
Login to post comments