You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Straight-Ahead - CD Reviews>East To West by Tony Monaco

East To West by Tony Monaco

Tony Monaco is without doubt one of the finest, first-rate Hammond B-3 jazz organists performing today. He is in full stride with this eclectic collection of jazz organ music.

Tony Monaco performs alongside Bruce Forman on guitar, Adam Nussbaum on drums, and Byron Rooker on saxophone. The music is clear, imaginative, crisp, and innovative.

There are ten selections in this collection. Among the songs are "I'll Remember Jimmy" by Tony Monaco, "O Barquino (My Little Boat)" by Roberto Menescal, "Rudy and the Fox" by Tony Monaco, "Recordame" by Joe Henderson, "Don't Be That Way" by Goodman/Sampson/Parish, "Donna Lee" by Charlie Parker, "Roz da' Cat" by Tony Monaco, "Softly as the Morning Sunrise" by Hammerstein/Romberg, "Like Someone in Love" by Burke/Van Heusen, and "Indiana" by Hanley/McDonald.

The songs in this collection make for a memorable listening experience. "Roz da' Cat" is a classic jazz work and deserves much radio play time. Tony Monaco has that rare ability to bring solid blues into a straight-ahead/classic format and create a sound uniquely his own. His style is refreshingly subtle and brisk.

This CD by Tony Monaco is the first release from Chicken Coup Records. It is a winner from beginning to end, a fine listening journey with one of the finest jazz organists now performing, and a welcome addition for jazz audiences who like creative and imaginative jazz organ music.

For another look at the intricate playing style of Tony Monaco, listen to his rendition of "O Barquino (My Little Boat)" on this CD. The performances are topnotch, every one of them.

Congratulations to Tony Monaco and his group, and to Chicken Coup Records for an exceptional entry into the world of jazz organ music. This CD is a classic of its kind! Highly recommended.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Tony Monaco
  • CD Title: East To West
  • Genre: Straight-Ahead / Classic
  • Year Released: 2006
  • Record Label: Chicken Coup Records
  • Musicians: Tony Monaco (organ), Bruce Forman (guitar), Adam Nussbaum (drums), Byron Rooker (saxophone)
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments