You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Straight-Ahead - CD Reviews>Nice Work If You Can Get It by Tom Grant

Nice Work If You Can Get It by Tom Grant

His biography reads: "Tom produces propulsive R&B grooves, infectious melodic hooks and stylish ballads with equal ease."

Nice Work If You Can Get It shows off Grant’s delicious vocals as his silky ballads flow effortlessly

In a word: swank.

Consistently on top of the adult contemporary charts, music master, Tom Grant’s tight piano skills perfectly complement his flowing vocal style.

Taking the listener back to the days of George and Ira Gershwin with Nice Work If You Can Get It, and Cole Porter’s All Of You, along with Rodgers & Hammerstein’s People Will Say We’re In Love, Grant brings us into the era of rich love tunes, familiar words many of us grew up with.

You Make Me Feel So Young, by Gordon & Myrow is done with effervescence, as it was written.

Desafindao, by Jobim/De Mendonca/Cavanaugh, is sprightly, as Grant springs across the keyboard.

Bringing the album into more recent times, Grant does Joni Mitchell’s Both Sides Now in a slow tempo, giving the listener a feel for the more solemn side of emotions.David Captein keeps a soft bass back to Grant’s magnificent piano stroll.

Nancy Curtin provides crystal vocals on A Felicidade.

Joined by Richard Titterington on flugelhorn, Grant provides vocals for I’m Old Fashioned as Gary Hobbs does a slow, smooth drum brush. Dennis Caiazza keeps time with bass.

Known as the Pacific Northwest’s most renowned musical artist, Tom Grant has recorded on more than 20 albums.

Nice Work If You Can Get It is just one more hit this great artist shares with his listening public.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Tom Grant
  • CD Title: Nice Work If You Can Get It
  • Genre: Straight-Ahead / Classic
  • Year Released: 2004
  • Record Label: nuWrinkle records
  • Tracks: Nice Work If You Can Get It, You Make Me Feel So Young, I Concentrate On You, People Will Say We’re In Love, All Of You, Celia, On Green Dolphin Street, Desafinado, Both Sides Now, A Felicidade, I’m Old Fashioned.
  • Musicians: Tom Grant: piano & vocals. Ron Steen: drums, Phil Baker: bass, Phil Beach: piano, David Captein: bass, Paul Mazzio: flugelhorn, Gary Hobbs: drums, Nancy Curtin: vocal
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments