You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Straight-Ahead - CD Reviews>One More - Music Of Thad Jones by Various Artists

One More - Music Of Thad Jones by Various Artists

Perhaps the word "perfection" is seen too often in music reviews. Nevertheless, One More - Music Of Thad Jones deserves that honor. In fact, the people behind IPO Recordings operate a very classy outfit. From the cover painting by Ivan Kustura to the arrangements of Michael Patterson, this album is the pinnacle of good taste.

Thad Jones (1923-1986) was from one of the most influential families in the history of jazz. The Jones Boys, Hank, Elvin and Thad have thrilled fans since the 1940s. Although Thad and Elvin are no longer with us, Hank Jones carries the torch for his younger brothers on this fine disc.

Of Thad’s ninety-four published compositions with ASCAP, perhaps A Child Is Born is the best known to audiences in all genres of music. The late Sir Rolland Hanna performs the piano introduction via a previously recorded track for IPO. In all, the new CD includes eleven Thad Jones tunes and one by Thelonious Monk.

The personnel list reads like a "who’s who." There are no one-shot wonders on this recording. Its packed with some of the most respected perennials on the scene. Look at this - Jimmy Owen, Bob Brookmeyer, Frank Wess, James Moody, Benny Golson, Richard Davis, Mickey Roker and Hank Jones. It’s mainstream heaven!

Favorite tunes? There isn’t a mediocre track anywhere. Seasoned fans know and love these compositions and novices won’t find a better introduction to an unforgettable jazz composer. One More - Music Of Thad Jones just never stops swinging.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Various Artists
  • CD Title: One More - Music Of Thad Jones
  • Genre: Straight-Ahead / Classic
  • Year Released: 2005
  • Record Label: IPO Recordings
  • Tracks: Subtle Rebuttal; Thad’s Pad; Kids Are Pretty People; One More; Mean What You Say; A Child Is Born; Bossa Nova Ova; The Waltz You Swang For Me; H&T Blues; Consummation; The Farewell; Monk’s Mood.
  • Musicians: Michael Patterson (adaptations, arrangements); Jimmy Owen (trumpet, flugelhorn); Bob Brookmeyer (trombone); Frank Wess (tenor, alto saxes, flute); James Moody (tenor, soprano saxes); Benny Golson (tenor sax); Hank Jones (piano); Richard Davis (bass); Mickey Roker (drums). Sir Rolland Hanna (previously recorded piano intro on “A Child Is Born.”
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments