You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Straight-Ahead - CD Reviews>Workin’ With The Miles Davis Quintet by Miles Davis Quintet

Workin’ With The Miles Davis Quintet by Miles Davis Quintet

Borrowing a page from the Blue Note marketing folks, select albums from the Prestige vaults will be remastered by legendary producer Rudy Van Gelder. A question many readers may have about this new edition is, do I need to upgrade to the RVG edition? Well, it depends.... If you are on a budget, or already own Workin’ and have limited resources, you don’t need to shell out for the new version. If, however, your budget allows and you like to have every version available, or you like the prestige of owning the RVG editions, then by all means go ahead and splurge.

Is the sound quality better on the RVG edition? Yes, but the improvements are minor and may not be noticed by all listeners. The recording was done in mono and remains so. Compared to the original release, the soundstage seems to have more space around the instruments, and some upper frequencies are boosted a bit.

The album opens with the ballad "It Never Entered My Mind." The pace picks up on the next track "Four," but the overall mood of the album remains laid back. "Ahmed's Blues" is a trio with Garland, Chambers and Jones. Joe Goldberg’s liner notes inform us that Miles let the trio play at club gigs so he could take a break. An added bonus is hearing more of Garland’s classy pianism.

Workin’ has long been considered a classic by jazz fans and critics alike. If you’re unfamiliar with early Miles Davis or 50’s era jazz, don’t hesitate to snap up this new version with revamped liner notes and remastered sound.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Miles Davis Quintet
  • CD Title: Workin’ With The Miles Davis Quintet
  • Genre: Straight-Ahead / Classic
  • Year Released: 2006
  • Reissue Original Release: 1956
  • Record Label: Prestige
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments