You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Traditional / New Orleans - CD Reviews>Colyer in Stockholm by Ken Colyer and the Classic Jazz Band

Colyer in Stockholm by Ken Colyer and the Classic Jazz Band

This session should be of great importance to Ken Colyer (1928-1988) devotees as it was his last recorded performance. Until recently, Ken's album with Acker Bilk in 1985 was considered to be the last session. The Stockholm concert was recorded a year later, June 1986, at the Mosebacke Etablissement, a restaurant with an outdoor dance floor and a magnificent view of the city.

Ken Colyer was one of the most influential British jazz figures from 1949 when he formed the Crane River Jazz Band. Through the 1950s and 60s, he was indeed "the man" in England and respected by New Orleans addicts around the world. Although often absent from the scene due to deteriorating health during the 1970s, Colyer never put the horn away and played in a manner that never revealed his problems. While playing as a featured soloist with The Classic Jazz Band in Stockholm, Ken requested that a tape recording be made and leader Jens Lindgren was happy to comply.

What the session may lack in recording quality must be forgiven as it rewards us with immense musical enjoyment and is a piece of jazz history. Bill Bissonnette and his crew at Jazz Crusade have done their very best to cleanup an amateur recording.

Included are See See Rider, Bogalusa Strut, 219 Blues, My Gal Sal and four more fine tunes. As Ken Colyer's health deteriorated, he sold his home in Britain and sought treatment in Germany for his malignancy. He settled in a suburb of Nice, France and passed away on March 8, 1988.

"Oh! Didn't He Ramble"!

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Ken Colyer and the Classic Jazz Band
  • CD Title: Colyer in Stockholm
  • Genre: Traditional / New Orleans
  • Year Released: 1999
  • Record Label: Jazz Crusade
  • Musicians: Ken Colyer (trumpet, vocal), Goran Eriksson (clarinet), Jens Lindgren (trombone), Holger Gross (banjo), Goran Lind (string bass), Cacka Ekhe (drums).
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments