You are here:Home>CD Reviews>World Music - CD Reviews>June Again by Mark Yodice

June Again by Mark Yodice

This CD is not what it appears to be; at first glance, you notice a gaunt man with an acoustic guitar seated Indian-style without shoes on the inside cover; a placid villa wall with blooming flowers on the front. It is either a setup up for disaster or discovery. I'm pleased to say it was discovery. The last shoeless man I saw on a CD cover with an acoustic guitar was Michael Hedges (RIP); this is not coincidence.

Yodice has a Michael Hedges-like sensability and style, a touch of Leo Kottke, but definitely his own voice. As someone bred on the music of both of the aforementioned guitarists, this was a pleasant surprise that took me on a real journey.

Percussive and bluesy like Tuck (Andress) at times, peaceful and ambient at others with a touch of folky-ness, Mark Yodice has that pure wood and wires sound that I think anyone can appreciate. While I got lost imagining myself in a country house or on a lengthy road trip listening to this CD, I remembered, hey, it's "Jazz Review" - but this is not quite a jazzy CD. But as they say, good music is good music is good music, and this is definitely just that. If you like instrumental music, are looking for something emotional but not overwhelmingly 'heavy', or just want some great travelling music, this is for you. Kudos to Mark for keeping the pure sound of acoustic guitar alive. A very nice CD, period.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Mark Yodice
  • CD Title: June Again
  • Genre: World Music
  • Year Released: 2002
  • Record Label: Quiet Earth Music
  • Tracks: Snow Day, Jamu the Bewildered Buddhist, Emma Turns A Head Or Two, Porchbuddies, Glow, I Could Hardly Imagine, Past Bloom, The God Of Frolic, Violent Oak
  • Musicians: Mark Yodice(solo acoustic guitar)
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments