General - jazzreview.com - Your Jazz Music Connection - jazzreview.com - Your Jazz Music Connection http://www.jazzreview.com Mon, 22 May 2017 22:14:51 -0500 Joomla! - Open Source Content Management en-gb Search Results http://www.jazzreview.com/general/search-results.html http://www.jazzreview.com/general/search-results.html Search Results
]]>
morrice.blackwell@gmail.com (Morrice Blackwell) General Sun, 11 Aug 2013 20:44:30 -0500
The Greatest Party at Sea: The Smooth Jazz Cruise http://www.jazzreview.com/general/the-greatest-party-at-sea-the-smooth-jazz-cruise.html http://www.jazzreview.com/general/the-greatest-party-at-sea-the-smooth-jazz-cruise.html The Greatest Party At Sea: The Smooth Jazz Cruise How would you like to be in Smooth Jazz Heaven? It sails around the Caribbean and features an A-list of smooth jazz performers in concert and in special moments. It's "The Smooth Jazz Cruise," which is also called "The Greatest Party At Sea." From the time you board Holland America's Westerdam until you disembark, it's just one amazing experience after another. In January, Bev and I went on what would become not only our first cruise, but the only cruise we would ever think of taking again.

The Greatest Party At Sea: The Smooth Jazz Cruise

How would you like to be in Smooth Jazz Heaven? It sails around the Caribbean and features an A-list of smooth jazz performers in concert and in special moments. It's "The Smooth Jazz Cruise," which is also called "The Greatest Party At Sea." From the time you board Holland America's Westerdam until you disembark, it's just one amazing experience after another. In January, Bev and I went on what would become not only our first cruise, but the only cruise we would ever think of taking again.

Just a half hour after we left from Fort Lauderdale, you get to know how the experience will be. The first concert took place with two smooth jazz performers headlining every night. Each performer does their own concert-sized set with some of the finest backup musicians around. You better watch out because throughout the concerts, other named performers will join the headliner for those magical moments that only "The Smooth Jazz Cruise" can give. Think trumpeter Rick Braun being joined by sax men Euge Groove and Boney James and trombonist Brian Culbertson. That's how good it gets.

As the week moves along, you not only get to hear the performers, but you get to know what makes them tick. Between ports of call, you have the chance to hear songwriters talk about their thought process when they write music and what has influenced them. There were also seminars featuring sax, keyboard, and guitar player telling about why they do certain things to make themselves better. There are also events that show the lighter side of the performers, like sax man Gerald Albright's wife talking about healthy eating while husband Gerald makes chocolate chip cookies.

And don't forget the parties. They don't call it "The Greatest Party at Sea" for nothing. During the seven-night cruise, you have a number of parties by the pool where you can show off your tan, swim or just enjoy the sounds of DW3, sometimes joined by some of the major performers. There are T-shirt parties, a barbecue party, even a pajama party at night. There are also nightly DJ parties in the Crow's Nest where you can dance into the wee hours of the morning.

All this is prepared by Michael Lazaroff, executive director of Entertainment Cruise Productions. After looking over 30 different cruises, he knows what his audience wants, a consistant, first-class cruise experience. Unlike other promoters, Lazaroff takes a personal interest in the comments of the people who go year after year on not only "The Smooth Jazz Cruise," but also "The Jazz Cruise," which has been satisfying the straight-ahead jazz fan for over a decade.

Even though their cruises cost more than a normal Caribbean cruise, Lazaroff says the value in what you get outweighs what people pay. Each evening, you get internationally known talent performing on stage. This kind of dedication has expanded Entertainment Cruise Productions by adding a "Malt Shop Memories" cruise and this year introducing a new "Soul Train Cruise." When word gets around about what kind of cruises the company has done, those additional cruises could become as established at the jazz cruises have. For our money, "The Smooth Jazz Cruise" is something you'll never forget and will want to board year after year.

]]>
morrice.blackwell@gmail.com (Norm Breest) General Sun, 11 Mar 2012 16:51:30 -0500
Jazz Review.com Site Search http://www.jazzreview.com/general/jazz-review.com-site-search.html http://www.jazzreview.com/general/jazz-review.com-site-search.html We apologize for this inconvenience, however the link that you were trying to navigate to appears to be broken. Please use our search box below to quickly find your desired information.

We apologize for this inconvenience, however the link that you were trying to navigate to appears to be broken.  Please use our search box below to quickly find your desired information.

{loadposition in-article-search}

]]>
morrice.blackwell@gmail.com (Morrice Blackwell) General Tue, 23 Aug 2011 12:22:05 -0500
Jazz Giveaway Confirmation http://www.jazzreview.com/general/jazz-giveaway-confirmation.html http://www.jazzreview.com/general/jazz-giveaway-confirmation.html We would like to thank you for entering our jazz giveaway contest. Your entrance form has been received. Winners will be randomly chosen and notified at the conclusion of this promotion. Our sponsors will mail the prizes to the winners' addresses as completed on this form. Stay tuned for future contests. There are more great prizes being added all the time.

We would like to thank you for entering our jazz giveaway contest.  Your entrance form has been received.  Winners will be randomly chosen and notified at the conclusion of this promotion.  Our sponsors will mail the prizes to the winners' addresses as completed on this form. 

Stay tuned for future contests. There are more great prizes being added all the time.

Thanks again,

jazzreview.com Management

]]>
morrice.blackwell@gmail.com (Morrice Blackwell) General Sun, 14 Aug 2011 15:13:09 -0500
jazzreview.com Staff Memo - August 2011 http://www.jazzreview.com/general/jazzreview.com-staff-memo-august-2011.html http://www.jazzreview.com/general/jazzreview.com-staff-memo-august-2011.html

STAFF NEWS / UPDATES

ADDITIONAL INTERVIEW STAFF NEEDED: As our site's reach continues to expand, so do the requests from labels, PR firms and artists for interviews. Interview Editor, Denis Poole is seeking additional staff members that would like to participate on our interview staff. If you are interested in interviewing jazz artists, please email Denis at: denis.poole@yahoo.com and he will contact you directly with a bit more information regarding the interview process and participation on our interview staff. Also, if you are currently part of the interview staff and would like to be temporarily or permanently removed from our interview staff, please send Denis a note so he can make the necessary change.

STAFF UPDATE: It is with great sadness that I inform our staff of the passing of Senior Staff Writer, Lee Prosser on July 10th, 2011. Lee was one of our original staff members and has written more articles for jazzreview.com than any other writer in our 14 year history. Lee will be greatly missed.

BOOK REVIEWERS NEEDED: From time to time jazzreview.com receives a variety of books related to jazz. With the passing of Lee Prosser, we need to find other staff members that are willing to review the books that we receive from the book publishing companies. If you are interested in filling this role, please send me an email.

CD AND ARTICLE SUBMISSION: I would like to thank everyone for the recent submissions to the site, and wanted to relay just a couple of quick notes. Please be sure to put only the first paragraph or teaser text in the top content box, and place the full article text in the bottom content box. Also be sure to fill out the information on the Extra Fields tab. Some people are forgetting to fill in the Extra Fields tab when they make their submission.

CHANGES TO ARTICLES: If you need any changes made to an article that has already been approved by an editor, please send an email to the responsible editor for that area, and let them know what changes need to be made. The editor will make the necessary changes to an approved article.

FACEBOOK: If you have a Facebook account and would like to help promote the site, please "Like Us" by going to: http://www.facebook.com/pages/jazzreviewcom/134120096648297

EDITOR AREAS OF RESPONSIBILITY: If you have a question regarding a submission and need to talk to an editor, please refer to the list below for the correct editor. A note can sent to an editor by going to the staff contact page at: http://www.jazzreview.com/contact-us/contact-us--our-staff.html

•Acid Jazz - Norm Breest

•Ambient Jazz - Norm Breest

•BeBop / Hard Bop - CD Review - Suzi Price

•Big Band / Swing - CD Review - Suzi Price

•Blues - CD Review - Norm Breest

•Brazilian Jazz / Brazilian Pop Jazz - CD Review - Ana Isabel Ordonez

•Contemporary Jazz / Modern - CD Review - Ana Isabel Ordonez

•Cool Jazz - CD Review - Suzi Price

•Cubop - CD Review - Norm Breest

•Electronica - CD Review - Norm Breest

•Folk Jazz - CD Review - Ana Isabel Ordonez

•Free Jazz / Avante Garde - CD Review - Ana Isabel Ordonez

•Fusion - CD Review - Norm Breest

•Gospel - CD Review - Norm Breest

•Gypsy Jazz - CD Review - Ana Isabel Ordonez

•Holiday Jazz - CD Review - Suzi Price

•Jazz DVD / Video - CD Review - Suzi Price

•Jazz Vocals - CD Review - Suzi Price

•Latin Jazz / Latin Funk - CD Review - Ana Isabel Ordonez

•New Age - CD Review - Norm Breest

•Other - CD Review - Ana Isabel Ordonez

•Progressive - CD Review - Ana Isabel Ordonez

•Ragtime Jazz - CD Review - Suzi Price

•Smooth Jazz - CD Review - Norm Breest

•Soul / Funk Jazz - CD Review - Norm Breest

•Straight-Ahead / Classic - CD Review - Suzi Price

•Traditional / New Orleans - CD Review - Suzi Price

SITE CHANGES

BLOGGERS WANTED: As a part of our new Jazz Community Area, we can now offer blogs to anyone who would like to blog about jazz. We are looking to feature a few of our staff members as our featured staff bloggers. Please send me an email if you are interested in being one of our featured bloggers.

NEW STAFF MEMBERS

We would like to welcome our newest writers and photographers to our staff. Help me in extending a warm jazzreview.com welcome to our new collaborators. We would like to welcome to the team the following new staff members: Josh Sugar, Jeff Wanser and Marilyn Bellemore.

Thanks from the jazzreview.com management

As always, we would like to thank you for your love of jazz music and dedication as a staff member of jazzreview.com. With our combined and collaborative efforts, jazzreview.com will continue to spread the gospel of jazz around the world.

Morrice, Cheryl, Suzi, Norm, Ana, Nathan, and Juan

]]>
morrice.blackwell@gmail.com (Morrice Blackwell) General Sun, 07 Aug 2011 22:03:28 -0500
How to Submit a Link http://www.jazzreview.com/general/how-to-submit-a-link.html http://www.jazzreview.com/general/how-to-submit-a-link.html How to Submit a Link
JazzReview.com continues to build a comprehensive links directory complete with full site descriptions to expose our jazz fans to all the great jazz sites like yours available on the web. Our links directory is broken down into sixteen main topic areas.

JazzReview.com continues to build a comprehensive directory of jazz websites complete with full site descriptions to expose our jazz fans to all the great jazz sites like yours available on the web. Our links directory is broken down into sixteen main topic areas:

  • Booking / Management
  • General Jazz Sites
  • Jazz Artists / Group
  • Jazz Club / Venue
  • Jazz Ezine
  • Jazz Festivals
  • Jazz History
  • Jazz Magazine
  • Jazz Organization
  • Jazz Photography
  • Jazz Public Relations
  • Jazz Radio Station / Program
  • Jazz Record Label
  • Jazz Shopping / Merchandise
  • Music Site (Non-Jazz)
  • Other

To submit your site to our directory, please follow the steps below:

  1. If you have not already registered to the site, please do so by clicking the register button (located near the top right hand corner of any pages) and filling out our registration form. The system will automatically send you an activation email. Go to your email program, copy and paste the activation link into your browser window or simply click on the link to activate your membership to our site.
  2. Once your membership has been activated, log into the site by clicking the login link located near the top right hand corner of any page. The system's login form will allow you to enter your username and password.
  3. Go to the RESOURCES menu Link, and then to > JAZZ LINKS DIRECTORY link
  4. Once on the Links Directory Page, click the "Add Link" link toward the bottom of the page.
  5. To submit your link, completely fill out the links directory submission form.
  6. Once your link has been submitted, we also ask that you place a reciprocal link to jazzreviw.com on your site. Once your reciprocal link has been verified, your link will be activated on jazzreview.com.

 

Thanks in advance for the reciprocal link!

]]>
morrice.blackwell@gmail.com (Morrice Blackwell) General Sun, 31 Jul 2011 15:32:15 -0500
Privacy Policy http://www.jazzreview.com/general/privacy-policy.html http://www.jazzreview.com/general/privacy-policy.html Privacy Policy
This Privacy Policy governs the manner in which jazzreview.com collects, uses, maintains and discloses information collected from users (each, a "User") of the jazzreview.com website ("Site"). This privacy policy applies to the Site and all products and services offered by jazzreview.com.  

This Privacy Policy governs the manner in which jazzreview.com collects, uses, maintains and discloses information collected from users (each, a "User") of the jazzreview.com website ("Site"). This privacy policy applies to the Site and all products and services offered by jazzreview.com.

Personal identification information

We may collect personal identification information from Users in a variety of ways, including, but not limited to, when Users visit our site, register on the site, place an order, subscribe to the newsletter, fill out a form, and in connection with other activities, services, features or resources we make available on our Site. Users may be asked for, as appropriate, name, email address, mailing address, phone number. Users may, however, visit our Site anonymously. We will collect personal identification information from Users only if they voluntarily submit such information to us. Users can always refuse to supply personally identification information, except that it may prevent them from engaging in certain Site related activities.

Non-personal identification information

We may collect non-personal identification information about Users whenever they interact with our Site. Non-personal identification information may include the browser name, the type of computer and technical information about Users means of connection to our Site, such as the operating system and the Internet service providers utilized and other similar information.

Web browser cookies

Our Site may use "cookies" to enhance User experience. User's web browser places cookies on their hard drive for record-keeping purposes and sometimes to track information about them. User may choose to set their web browser to refuse cookies, or to alert you when cookies are being sent. If they do so, note that some parts of the Site may not function properly.

How we use collected information

jazzreview.com collects and uses Users personal information for the following purposes:

- To personalize user experience

We may use information in the aggregate to understand how our Users as a group use the services and resources provided on our Site.

- To improve our Site

We continually strive to improve our website offerings based on the information and feedback we receive from you.

- To improve customer service

Your information helps us to more effectively respond to your customer service requests and support needs.

- To process transactions

We may use the information Users provide about themselves when placing an order only to provide service to that order. We do not share this information with outside parties except to the extent necessary to provide the service.

- To administer a content, promotion, survey or other Site feature

To send Users information they agreed to receive about topics we think will be of interest to them.

- To send periodic emails

The email address Users provide for order processing, will only be used to send them information and updates pertaining to their order. It may also be used to respond to their inquiries, and/or other requests or questions. If User decides to opt-in to our mailing list, they will receive emails that may include company news, updates, related product or service information, etc. If at any time the User would like to unsubscribe from receiving future emails, we include detailed unsubscribe instructions at the bottom of each email or User may contact us via our Site.

How we protect your information

We adopt appropriate data collection, storage and processing practices and security measures to protect against unauthorized access, alteration, disclosure or destruction of your personal information, username, password, transaction information and data stored on our Site.

Sensitive and private data exchange between the Site and its Users happens over a SSL secured communication channel and is encrypted and protected with digital signatures.

Sharing your personal information

We do not sell, trade, or rent Users personal identification information to others. We may share generic aggregated demographic information not linked to any personal identification information regarding visitors and users with our business partners, trusted affiliates and advertisers for the purposes outlined above.We may use third party service providers to help us operate our business and the Site or administer activities on our behalf, such as sending out newsletters or surveys. We may share your information with these third parties for those limited purposes provided that you have given us your permission.

Third party websites

Users may find advertising or other content on our Site that link to the sites and services of our partners, suppliers, advertisers, sponsors, licensors and other third parties. We do not control the content or links that appear on these sites and are not responsible for the practices employed by websites linked to or from our Site. In addition, these sites or services, including their content and links, may be constantly changing. These sites and services may have their own privacy policies and customer service policies. Browsing and interaction on any other website, including websites which have a link to our Site, is subject to that website's own terms and policies.

Advertising

Ads appearing on our site may be delivered to Users by advertising partners, who may set cookies. These cookies allow the ad server to recognize your computer each time they send you an online advertisement to compile non personal identification information about you or others who use your computer. This information allows ad networks to, among other things, deliver targeted advertisements that they believe will be of most interest to you. This privacy policy does not cover the use of cookies by any advertisers.

Google Adsense

Some of the ads may be served by Google. Google's use of the DART cookie enables it to serve ads to Users based on their visit to our Site and other sites on the Internet. DART uses "non personally identifiable information" and does NOT track personal information about you, such as your name, email address, physical address, etc. You may opt out of the use of the DART cookie by visiting the Google ad and content network privacy policy at http://www.google.com/privacy_ads.html

Changes to this privacy policy

jazzreview.com has the discretion to update this privacy policy at any time. When we do, we will revise the updated date at the bottom of this page. We encourage Users to frequently check this page for any changes to stay informed about how we are helping to protect the personal information we collect. You acknowledge and agree that it is your responsibility to review this privacy policy periodically and become aware of modifications.

Your acceptance of these terms

By using this Site, you signify your acceptance of this policy. If you do not agree to this policy, please do not use our Site. Your continued use of the Site following the posting of changes to this policy will be deemed your acceptance of those changes.

Contacting us

If you have any questions about this Privacy Policy, the practices of this site, or your dealings with this site, please contact us at:

jazzreview.com
10101 Hunt Club Circle
Mequon, WI 53097

Phone: 414.939.5299

Contact email: info@jazzreview.com

This document was last updated on July 25, 2011

Privacy policy created by Generate Privacy Policy

]]>
morrice.blackwell@gmail.com (Morrice Blackwell) General Mon, 25 Jul 2011 12:58:58 -0500
Staff Application Confirmation http://www.jazzreview.com/general/staff-application-confirmation.html http://www.jazzreview.com/general/staff-application-confirmation.html

We would like to thank you for submitting an application to the jazzreview.com staff.  Your application will be reviewed by our management team and someone will respond back to you via email with its status within the next 7- 10 days.

Thanks,

jazzreview.com Management

]]>
morrice.blackwell@gmail.com (Morrice Blackwell) General Mon, 11 Jul 2011 20:02:53 -0500
Submitting Jazz Photography http://www.jazzreview.com/general/submitting-jazz-photography.html http://www.jazzreview.com/general/submitting-jazz-photography.html The jazz photography presented at JazzReview.com is becoming one of the most popular areas of our site. We will accept photography from our staff photographers, freelance photographer as well as jazZ fan concert photos. However, our featured jazz galleries will be limited to our staff photographers and selected freelance work. Recently increasing the amount of photos on the site and adding new photography staff, we have found the need to develop consistency in the submission of photos. In order to simplify and expedite the submission of photos to JazzReview.com, we have developed a set of formatting guidelines for our photographers…

The jazz photography presented at JazzReview.com is becoming one of the most popular areas of our site. We will accept photography from our staff photographers, freelance photographer as well as jazz fan concert photos.  However, our featured jazz galleries will be limited to our staff photographers and selected freelance work.  Recently increasing the amount of photos on the site and adding new photography staff, we have found the need to develop consistency in the submission of photos. In order to simplify and expedite the submission of photos to JazzReview.com, we have developed a set of formatting guidelines for our photographers to follow. Please bookmark this page and review the formatting guidelines below.

  1. Photo Resolution: Your photos should be reduced down to 72 dpi in a graphics program such as Adobe PhotoShop. This is the highest dpi that today's web browsers can handle.
  2. Cropping: Photos should be cropped to your desired framing.
  3. Sizing Photos: Photos should then be sized down to a size no greater than 700 pixels x 700 pixels (the longest side of the photo should be no larger than 700 pixels.) If the photos are too large, they will take too long to download and a visitor may opt to leave the page rather than wait for the download.
  4. File Format: The photo should now be converted into a JPG format (60%)
  5. File Names: It is best to name the photos starting with the artist of group name so that will show up on the page under the photo and you will not have to rename each photo once submitting.  (e.g.: Miles Davis_1)
  6. Number of Photos: Try to select your top ten to twelve photos from any one particular show. If you are covering a festival with multiple shows and artists, try to select your top one or two photos of each artist or submit separate galleries for each artist.
  7. Submitting Your Photo Galley: In order to submit your photos, please use our our Photo Gallery submission form inside the Jazz Community Page.  For an indepth tutorial regarding the submission process, please watch the turtorial video below.
]]>
morrice.blackwell@gmail.com (Morrice Blackwell) General Sun, 10 Jul 2011 14:20:18 -0500
Artist Services at jazzreview.com http://www.jazzreview.com/general/artist-services-at-jazzreview.com.html http://www.jazzreview.com/general/artist-services-at-jazzreview.com.html If you are an indie artist or label that needs assistance, the staff at jazzreview.com is here to assist you in your musical journey. We proudly offer competitively priced services to help you get the word out about your new CD or concert.

If you are an indie artist or label that needs assistance, the Jazz Review is here to assist you in your musical journey.  We proudly offer competitively priced services to help you get the word out about your new CD or concert. Our fee-based services include:

Press Release Writing - a seasoned music veteran will conduct a 30-minute interview and write the copy for a one-page press release ($195)

{nicepaypal:buy|195.00|Press Release Writing - jazzreview.com}


CD Release Support - 10 weeks of a professionally monitored PR campaign to facilitate the process of interview/review gathering by an experienced publicist ($1,950)

{nicepaypal:buy|1950.00|CD Release Support - jazzreview.com}


Website Design via webs.com Template - We will write 150 words of copy, install up to 10 jpgs, upload a bio and/or press release written by you and an assortment of other pages available through webs.com ($250)

{nicepaypal:buy|250.00|Website Design via webs.com - jazzreview.com}


Press Release posting on JazzReview.com - If you do not have the time to post your already written press release on the Jazz Review, we will happily do it for you ($25)

{nicepaypal:buy|25.00|Press Release Posting - jazzreview.com}


CD Spotlight Campaign - 30 Days - Provide us the written introduction to your CD, jpg, tracks, musician listing and up to two review links. We will post it for you. ($150 per month)

{nicepaypal:buy|150.00|30-Day Spotlight Campaign - jazzreview.com}


CD Spotlight Campaign - 60 Days - Provide us the written introduction to your CD, jpg, tracks, musician listing and up to two review links. We will post it for you. ($125 per month)

{nicepaypal:buy|250.00|60-Day Spotlight Campaign - jazzreview.com}


CD Spotlight Campaign - 90 Days - Provide us the written introduction to your CD, jpg, tracks, musician listing and up to two review links. We will post it for you. ($100 per month)

{nicepaypal:buy|300.00|90-Day Spotlight Campaign - jazzreview.com}


CD Spotlight Campaign - 180 Days - Provide us the written introduction to your CD, jpg, tracks, musician listing and up to two review links. We will post it for you. ($92 per month)

{nicepaypal:buy|550.00|180-Day Spotlight Campaign - jazzreview.com}


Branding Consultation - an experienced industry professional will talk with you via Skype for one hour to help answer branding or general "how to" questions ($75 per hour)

{nicepaypal:buy|75.00|Branding Consultation - jazzreview.com|||||field;# of hours;1;3}


To further discuss how we can assist you with your promotional needs, please contact us at services@jazzreview.com

]]>
morrice.blackwell@gmail.com (Morrice Blackwell) General Wed, 29 Jun 2011 22:29:34 -0500