Winners of the BBC Radio Jazz Awards 2002

BBC Radios 2 and 3 came together on the 31st July to present the second annual BBC Radio Jazz Awards which were held at London’s Queen Elizabeth Hall. Co-hosted by Jools Holland and Courtney Pine, the event was a star studded affair celebrating the whole spectrum of the jazz genre.

The ceremony featured award presentations by Clive James, Mark Knopfler, Kenneth Clarke and Moira Stewart among other celebrities, and performances by a host of jazz stars, including a show-stopping performance by Best Band winners, the Jazz Jamaica All Stars. Winner of Best Vocalist, Stacey Kent, entranced the audience of radio listeners and VIPs with her take on Isn't It A Pity and John Taylor and Oren Marshall performed music from the Best New Work. The all female sax quartet Saxophony were great surprise opening act, highlighting the committment to young talent of the BBC and of Lifetime Achievement Award winners Dame Cleo Laine and John Dankworth, at whose Stables venue they first met. Dave Brubeck presented their award from New York by video link. Scottish piano maestro Brian Kellock’s Trio whose Live At Henry’s was a well deserved winner of Best Album, were a great crowd pleaser as were the Big Chris Barber Band, Chris winning the brand new Jazz Heritage award. The fantastic 20 strong Jazz Jamaica All Stars were back on stage to perform with ‘Rising Star’ Soweto Kinch among their ranks and, the highlight of the evening, a version of Mamoshaba with International Artist of the Year, Hugh Masekela.

The award presenters and winners are detailed below:

Best Album: Brian Kellock Trio Live At Henry’s presented by Denis Lawson

Best Band: Jazz Jamaica All Stars presented by Sue Mingus

Best Vocalist: Stacey Kent presented by Humphrey Lyttelton

Best Instrumentalist: John Surman presented by Ian Carr

Rising Star: Soweto Kinch presented by Clive James

Best New Work: John Taylor, Green Man Suite presented by Mike Gibbs

Jazz Innovation: Matt Bourne presented by Julian Joseph

Services to Jazz: Chris Hodgkins (Jazz Services) presented by Moira Stewart

International Award of the Year: Hugh Masekela presented by Annie Whitehead

Jazz Heritage Award: Chris Barber presented by Mark Knopfler

Lifetime Achievement 1: Cleo Laine & John Dankworth presented by Dave Brubeck

Lifetime Achievement 2: Stan Tracey presented by Kenneth Clarke

The awards will be broadcast on BBC Radio 2 on Monday, 5 August at 7.00-8.30pm and on BBC Radio 3’s Jazz Line-Up on Saturday, 3 August at 4.00pm.

The awards will also be available online as a streamable webcast from Monday, 5 August at

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Unknown
  • Event Date: 7/31/2002
Login to post comments