You are here:Home>Jazz News>Press Releases>Canadian Smooth Jazz Awards - Voting Starts 1/11

Canadian Smooth Jazz Awards - Voting Starts 1/11

January 8, 2010
Contact: Mary Kirk
(416) 565-7211

The beginning of the year always marks a fresh start, a new beginning and an opportunity for Smooth Jazz fans to vote for their favourite artists on the Canadian Smooth Jazz Awards website.

Voting for the 6th Annual Canadian Smooth Jazz Awards kicks off Monday January 11 and runs until February 19, 2010.

This year four outstanding Canadian acts earned 3 nominations each: Darren Rahn, Alexander Zonjic, Michael Kaeshammer and Four80East (Tony Grace & Rob DeBoer). Saxman and super-producer Rahn, born in BC’s Fraser Valley, was nominated for ‘Album’ and ‘Best Original Composition’ for "Talk of the Town" as well as ‘Wind Instrumentalist of the Year."

Jazz piano prodigy Kaeshammer received nominations for ‘Male Vocalist’ and ‘Keyboardist/Pianist’ of the year. His hit song "Isabelle," co-written by Ron Lopata, Andrea Kaziol and Joel Parisien, was nominated as ‘Best Original Composition.’ Toronto’s Rob DeBoer and Tony Grace of the band Four80East each received 3 nominations this year. Grace who co-founded the Toronto band in the late nineties, picked up a nod as ‘Drummer/Percussionist,’ and shared nominations with DeBoer for ‘Group/Duo of the Year’ and ‘Best Original Composition’ for their hit song, "Roll On". DeBoer was also nominated as ‘Keyboardist of the Year.’

Alexander Zonjic, who is set to host the show for his sixth year, was recognized in both ‘Wind Instrumentalist’ and ‘ BMO Broadcaster of the Year’ categories. His latest project Doin’ the D’ was also nominated for ‘Album of the Year.’

Mary Kirk, Music Director for Wave 94.7FM Toronto/Hamilton and co-chair of the Canadian Smooth Jazz Awards, says, "We’re always amazed at the huge number of fans around the world who take time to cast their ballots online in support of their favourite artists. They have the power!"

Co-chair John Beaudin, President of Smooth Jazz, says, "Each January the Awards really come alive with the thousands of fans who vote and support their favourite acts. I also love the fact that fan voting can create a new star in the format, an unsung hero who is ready to blossom."

The recipient of the George Benson Lifetime Achievement Award this year is Saxophone superstar David Sanborn. Beginning his solo recording career in 1975, Sanborn has earned the highest respect from his peers, radio and his fans.

The Canadian Smooth Jazz Awards will take place on Friday, April 23 at the Living Arts Centre in Mississauga, Ontario. Mary Kirk says, "Smooth Jazz fans are already anxious to get their tickets for what they tell us is the highlight of their year. They love the LAC theatre, the hilarity and camaraderie of the event and above all, the unsurpassed quality of the music performed at the show!"

Beaudin adds, "I always consider the awards show the best concert that I attend each year and this show in April will be bigger than ever." Vote online Jan 11-Feb 19:

Tickets are on sale at the Living Arts Centre Box Office: 905 306 6000

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: canadian smooth jazz awards
Login to post comments