You are here:Home>Jazz Spotlights>Big Moon by Faith Gibson

Big Moon by Faith Gibson

Faith Gibson’s new CD "Big Moon" was released on June 15, 2009 on the independent jazz label Capricopia. So far, it has been aired on over 115 North American jazz radio stations.

For the Berlin recording project Faith, originally from Pittsburgh, is joined by pianist-arranger Wolfgang Köhler, guitarist Jo Gehlmann, bassist Lars Gühlcke and drummer Felix Astor. Gregoire Peters makes three guest appearances on alto sax and one on clarinet. The CD was recorded and mastered by Rainer Robben of Berlins renowned Audio Cue studio. Faith wrote three of these songs and co-wrote another with Christopher Morse who contributed four numbers of his own. Two tracks are standards and they and the consistent high quality of the newer material - also two tunes by acclaimed British songwriter Dave Gill - give Faith one superior song after another to interpret in her subtle and natural way.

Faith grew up in Pittsburgh where she studied piano and flute listened to a wide variety of music and sang in church choirs and her high school and college choruses and pop ensembles. However it would be some time before Faith pursued a career as a jazz singer.

"A point came when I realized it was ridiculous to allow shyness to deny me things I always wanted. I began venturing outside myself and onto stages first with a swing vocal trio and finally as a soloist." She attended the Fionna Duncan Vocal Jazz Workshop in Glasgow Scotland which nudged her in the right direction: "I went away from that week knowing I was a jazz singer."

Since her debut performance at the Glasgow Jazz Festival in 2003 Bonn and Berlin Germany and recorded her first CD You Don’t Know Me.

Faith has also studied with Silvia Droste Judy Niemack and Sheila Jordan. She writes songs and also operates her own internet radio station Blossom’s Vocal Jazz which was chosen as Editor’s Pick on and has a loyal fan base of listeners around the world.


Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Faith Gibson
  • CD Title: Big Moon
  • Year Released: 2009
  • Genre: Jazz Vocals
  • Record Label: Capricopia
  • Artist's Instrument: vocals
  • Tracks: Scratch It, Between the Lines, What Women Want, Diamond Edge, No Time for the Blues, Darling, Big Moon, Too Darn Blue, Be a Man Baby, Love You Madly, That’s Right It Was You, I Think Somebody Loves Me, Reaching for the Moon
  • Musicians: Faith Gibson (vocals), Wolfgang Köhler (piano/arrangements), Lars Gühlcke (bass), Felix Astor (drums), Jo Gehlmann (guitar), Gregoire Peters (alto saxophone, clarinet).
Login to post comments