You are here:Home>Jazz Spotlights>Black Magic The Cyber Jazz Experience by Ajamu Akinyele

Black Magic The Cyber Jazz Experience by Ajamu Akinyele

You"ve heard the buzz about his latest CD "Black Magic The Cyber Jazz Experience," predicted to be "The Best Independent Jazz Album of 2006," from music critics around the world. You"ve seen the amazing album cover. You"ve heard his music on 89.5 KPOO, 103.7 KKSF, 96.5 KNOZ and 91.1 KCSM, but who is the man behind the music?

Meet producer/bassist/keyboardist/pianist/label owner and one half of the dynamic duo "Gemini Soul," Andre Marcel Ajamu Akinyele, pronounced Ah-jah-moo+Ah-kin-yay-lay.

Ajamu Akinyele has a new double CD out titled "Black Magic The Cyber Jazz Experience" released January 9, 2006 on his own recording label Pearl Jazz. As MARCEL, he released five CDs ranging from Funk to World, but as Ajamu Akinyele, embarked on his first cyber jazz release titled "Supernova" in 2005. Ajamu Akinyele is originally from the San Francisco bay area and resides in Noe Valley, a section of San Francisco, with his music collaborator, and the other half of Gemini Soul Jon OBergh. They met in 2002 and have been writing and performing together ever since.

Jon OBergh plays keyboard and piano with a combination of sequenced music to add a Live fill to the overall performance, i.e. Herbie Hancock, Tori Amos, and Sweetback; while Ajamu Akinyele plays bass laying down pure funk, i.e. Prince and MeShell Ndegeocello creating a unique and identifiable sound called "Cyber-Jazz," which is a blend of smooth jazz-funk fusion.

Ajamu Akinyeles style of music has been compared to the smooth sounds of Sade the laidback grooves of bassist MeShell Ndegeocello the funkiness of Pop Icon Prince and the fusion of Miles Davis. "Black Magic The Cyber Jazz Experience" has been labeled "musically stunning and captivating" by his peers. Ajamu Akinyele states "My overall goal is to introduce my music to all generations and to all ethnic backgrounds in support of jazz of all genres trying to unite us as a people of one nation under a groove through cyber jazz."

Hear what critics are saying:

"Black Magic The Cyber Jazz Experience" the new double CD from Ajamu Akinyele is available at: and I-Tunes.


Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Ajamu Akinyele
  • CD Title: Black Magic The Cyber Jazz Experience
  • Year Released: 2006
  • Genre: Soul / Funk Jazz
  • Record Label: Pearl Jazz Recording Label
  • Artist's Instrument: Bass
  • Short URL:
Login to post comments